Textual analysis assignment

Kenneth Hargrove
1 min readApr 26, 2021

--

For this assignment, I created a word cloud from Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. “I Have a Dream” speech. The word cloud design created allows me to see many different details surrounding the words, themes, and language of text. It tells me that this speech was written to uplift Black people and other people of color around the world. The design of the word cloud depicts a rocket ship that moves in an upward direction which represents progress and power which is expressed in words during the speech. It gives our community hope for the future in the presence of racism and injustices that continue to hold the BIPOC community under its claws of hate. The themes I found in this were freedom, determination, and family. I chose those themes because the speech speaks on Black people which can almost be seen as a “family” and the speech is empowering Black people to never give up on the fight for racial equality and justice. I believe many people could find many different themes in this text as I did.

--

--